E21C appeals planning decision for Eden Park High School

E21C appeals planning decision for Eden Park High School

September 12, 2016
|
0 Comments
|

Here at E21C, we have taken the decision to appeal against Bromley Council’s decision to defer planning permission for Eden Park High School’s temporary site at Ravensbourne School. 

The decision was made by Bromley Council Members on Thursday 28 July despite the Borough Planning Officers’ recommendation that planning permission be granted. The deferral threatens to delay the opening of the much-needed new school for a second year and, as a result, E21C is now calling for the support of local people, to help ensure Eden Park High School can open as planned for the next academic year in 2017.

“Bromley Council itself has identified that there is an acute need for new schools in the Borough, especially in the North West of Bromley, which is the proposed permanent location for the school. But the Council now withholding permission for the temporary site is disappointing to say the least,” says Paul Murphy, CEO of E21C. “I would understand if parents hoping to send their children to Eden Park High School in 2017 were angry about it.  We really need the support of local people who are concerned about the education of Bromley’s young people and the shortage of secondary school places in the Borough.”

Eden Park High School will help parents and students from Bromley get the school choices they deserve and help alleviate the pressure placed on other local schools with soaring student numbers.

What you can do

Parents and residents who wish to support Eden Park High School should contact their Ward Councillors, whose details are below.

There is also a pre-addressed letter here, (which will open a pdf in a new window) to Councillor Peter Fortune, Portfolio Holder for Education, which supporters can post or email to Peter.Fortune@bromley.gov.uk 

Please add your name and address to the bottom of the letter

We encourage supporters of Eden Park High School to sign the online petition for the school, which can be found here

Official projections from the Greater London Authority show that 3,673 more secondary school places will be needed in Bromley in the next few years. Eden Park High School will ultimately provide a first class education to 1,680 students, representing 46 percent of that extra demand.

“It’s a great shame that Bromley Council has delayed a decision,” says Mrs Emily Codling, Headteacher of Eden Park High School. “We are passionate about providing the best possible education for our children in a wonderful learning environment, to help them prepare for their futures. I am receiving emails and letters from parents everyday who are desperate for their children to join Eden Park High School in 2017. A further delay will be so upsetting for many people in the Borough.”

Bromley Ward Councillors

Cllr Vanessa Allen       vanessa.allen@bromley.gov.uk          Clock House

Cllr Kathy Bance          kathy.bance@bromley.gov.uk            Penge and Cator

Cllr Kevin Brooks         kevin.brooks@bromley.gov.uk          Penge and Cator

Cllr Alan Collins           alan.collins@bromley.gov.uk             Kelsey and Eden Park

Cllr Peter Dean            peter.dean@bromley.gov.uk               Kelsey and Eden Park

Cllr Ian Dunn               ian.dunn@bromley.gov.uk                  Clock House

Cllr Peter Fookes         peter.fookes@bromley.gov.uk            Penge and Cator

Cllr Diane Smith          diane.smith@bromley.gov.uk             Kelsey and Eden Park

 

Want to stay up-to-date with all E21C’s latest news, or help us gather more support for Eden Park High School? Find us on social media: Facebook, Twitter and Google+.